Cloudfreeday's Blog

My experiences with cloud-based services and all that!

Slow Carbonite uploads

with 3 comments

Here you can see the paltry upload speeds since being throttled. The maximum speed is the same regardless of what else I may be doing on the computer (or on the internet) – this suggests that an artificial limit has been imposed by Carbonite. At this speed I can only upload some 30 MB per hour to my online backup. This is really unsatisfactory.

Here you can see the paltry upload speeds since being throttled. The maximum speed is the same regardless of what else I may be doing on the computer (or on the internet) – this suggests that an artificial limit has been imposed by Carbonite. At this speed I can only upload some 30 MB per hour to my online backup. This is really unsatisfactory.

Now that my blog is well and truly established – oh and this is my first ever blog – I wanted to let you know about an issue I’m having with my Carbonite online backup.

I have noticed that Carbonite appears to have speed-limited (some call this throttling) my upload speed. Now when you consider that an online backup service needs to upload your data for it to be safely stored it’s quite important that you can actually get the data from your computer to your chosen online backup provider.

After return from a holiday I had a lot of photos and videos (16.3 GB to be precise) to add to my computer – of course I would want these backed up – I would hate to lose my holiday snaps! I also had other data and files which changed over my holiday – existing files – previously backed up – that needed to be updated on the Carbonite servers.

Initially all seemed to back up at great speed. In fact, I was achieving over 4 GB per day. In recent days, however, I noticed that Carbonite seemed to be backing up less and less per day. Now I’m down to around 0.5 GB per day. This is significantly less upload speed than my connection can handle so I can only put slow down to an artificial limit imposed by Carbonite.

In order to be sure that I didn’t have a virus or something else consuming my upload capacity I installed a small application which monitors this (I’ll talk about this application at a later time). The application confirmed that nothing else on my computer was using my upload capacity.

Also, I checked with my internet service provider’s list of outages to make sure that nothing there was affecting my upload speeds – nothing was.

Anyway, I’ve written to Carbonite to see what they say. I’ll keep you all up-to-date.

Written by cloudfreeday

Wednesday, 7 October 2009 at 12:40

Posted in Carbonite, Issue

Tagged with , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I ran into your blog via Google. I’m having the same lovely 25k carbonite upload speed, did the mention anything when you wrote them?

    Johnny

    Friday, 16 October 2009 at 04:35

    • It has been my experience with Carbonite customer service that any questions which relate to upload speeds are generally thrown back at the user – it is often suggested that local conditions such as the user’s connection to the internet is to blame.

      Carbonite consistently denies that it throttles upload speeds yet Mr David Friend, Chief Executive Officer of Carbonite has stated it does have “an algorithm that distributes available data center bandwidth equitably across all users who happen to be online at that time”. My post Carbonite has a what, an algorithm? discusses this and why I believe this seems improbable once you look at the data.

      In response to my matter, Carbonite said to me that “Carbonite allocates more bandwidth to new users doing a typical initial backup of less than 35 GB, and allocates less to users after their back up exceeds 200 GB.” Now, if you’re “[allocating] more bandwidth to new users” that must, by default, mean that you are allocating less bandwidth to the remainder of the users.

      This matter remains outstanding with Carbonite – of course I will update you all on here as the issues progress.

      Specifically relating to your issue, how can you be sure that you were once receiving higher upload speeds and that you have now been throttled? I’m merely trying to gain a better understanding of your situation.

      Also, have you approached Carbonite? If yes, how did it respond? If no, I would ask that you consider detailing your concerns to Carbonite and I would dearly love to see how Carbonite responds to you.

      Any information you might be able to provide would be of benefit to us all, I would think.

      cloudfreeday

      Friday, 16 October 2009 at 19:09

  2. I have exactly the same experience. I have a very high speed connection (25 mb down, 15 mB up via Verizon FioS), but their knee jerk response was to blame the ISP. The slowness continues.

    Kenny Lee

    Friday, 21 May 2010 at 23:24


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

